Australian Universities

Membership is open to Australian universities with proven experience and engagement in Africa. Benefits of membership include participation in the activities of the network.

A membership fee applies to Australian university members, with these fees supporting the functioning of the Secretariat, activities sponsored by the AAUN and other operational costs.


Australian National University

Curtin University

Murdoch University

The University of Newcastle

The University of New South Wales

The University of Queensland

The University of Western Australia

University of Wollongong

Western Sydney University

African Universities

There will be equal numbers of members in Australia and in Africa, up to 20 institutions on each side. African members will be peer institutions who are current partners with one or more Australian members, strong in at least one of the thematic areas listed in the AAUN strategy, and committed to active and long term participation in the network.

African membership should display good spread across the continent, especially covering the east and south, and include both established and emerging universities. African membership fees will be used in Africa.


Makerere University, Uganda

The University of Cape Town, South Africa

The University of Ghana, Ghana

The University of Mauritius, Mauritius

The University of Nairobi, Kenya

The University of Pretoria, South Africa

Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa

University of Botswana, Botswana

Nelson Mandela University, South Africa

The University of Mpumalanga, South Africa

The University of Rwanda, Rwanda