AAUN congratulates awardees Post-Doctoral Fellowship Award

Nine Awardees receive Two-year Post-Doc Fellowships

It is with great pleasure that AAUN announces the successful outcome of the Australia Awards Post-Doctoral Fellowship program, and congratulates the 2017 Fellows.

The pilot Post-Doctoral Fellowships program is fully funded by the Australian government through Australia Awards.  The aim of the pilot is to support research partnerships between Australian and African universities that are members of the Australia Africa Universities Network (AAUN). Fellowships are offered in the fields of Agricultural Productivity, Health and Science and Technology.

The program aimed to pilot 5-8 (depending on the number of applications) of Post-Doctoral Fellowships to eligible applicants affiliated to a South African University that is a member of the Australia Africa Universities Network (AAUN), with a view to scaling up and offering post-docs to other selected countries in future.

Ninety per cent of the 10 applicants were found suitable for an Award: six affiliated to the University of Pretoria and four to the University of Cape Town.

Australia Awards are now in the process of finalising the contracts for the Awardees and confirming the arrangements for the Awardees Research activities with the Home and Host Institutions. Based on the research proposals provided by the Awardees, mobilisation to Australia will be expected to commence from July 2017 going forward.

There will be a one-day Pre-Departure Briefing Session with available Awardees in early August in Pretoria, which will include a lunch hosted by Adam McCarthy.

The next round of the Post-Doctoral Fellowship will open on 1 September 2017 to 30 November 2017.

Applicants must be affiliated to the following universities:

  • University of Ghana (Ghana)
  • University of Nairobi (Kenya)
  • University of Pretoria (South Africa)
  • University of Cape Town (South Africa

For more information please visit the website.