Announcing the inaugural AAUN Emerging Leaders in Australia-Africa Diplomacy (ELAAD) Fellows

AAUN was delighted to announce at its Annual Forum in Canberra on 27 October 2022 the inaugural 36 Fellows in the new AAUN Emerging Leaders in Australia-Africa Diplomacy (ELAAD) Program.

The ELAAD program, convened by Dr David Mickler, Dean Global, Africa, at Curtin University, creates a cohort of emerging leaders from Australia and eligible African countries that will work together to build Australia-Africa literacy, enhance Australia-Africa relations, and develop new ideas for how Australia and African countries can tackle common challenges such as climate change, geopolitical tensions, conflict and economic instability.

The online program commences on 15 November 2022 and runs until June 2023. Fellows, who are aged between 20-35 years and are either enrolled in a Master’s program in the field of international relations or working for their government in a foreign policy capacity, will engage with a range of expert speakers from academia, government and beyond to develop their subject area knowledge, professional skills and international networks.

The inaugural ELAAD Fellows 2022-23 are:

  • Temitayo Adedeji ADEDOYIN, Nigeria
  • Anuoluwapo Temitope ADEYEMI, Nigeria
  • Urvashi APPIAH, Mauritius
  • Clinton ASANTE, Ghana
  • Marikia BUTOYI, Congo
  • Matlida Triumph Joshua CHUNGA, Malawi
  • Abdurahman Imo EDAO, Ethiopia
  • Levina GOVENDER, South Africa
  • Riley GREEN, Australia
  • Merhawit Baraki HADISH, Ethiopia
  • Luyando Nag’andu HAMUSONDE, Zambia
  • Emmanuel HOL-ODURO, Ghana
  • Abubakar Isah IBRAHIM, Nigeria
  • Tanaka Last JERE, Zimbabwe
  • Tholwana Boikhutso KEREEDITSE, Botswana
  • Edward Mugaywa KITOKEZI, Tanzania
  • David KUEL, Australia
  • Rania Atef Fouad MAKARIOUS, Egypt
  • Annelise Geraldine MARIE, Mauritius
  • Fiston Emidy MASICHWE, Tanzania
  • Hajj MAZENGERA, Malawi
  • Anet MCCLINTOCK, Australia
  • Lachlan MILLER, Australia
  • Syabonga Sizwe MSWELI, South Africa
  • Grace MUSOLO, Kenya
  • Lelise Sori NEME, Ethiopia
  • Biola NGANG, Australia
  • Shadrack OSERO, Kenya
  • Emily PAYNE, Australia
  • Lehlogonolo PHAAHLA, South Africa
  • Fatima Zahra RAHMOUNI, Morocco
  • Oumaima RAMDANI, Morocco
  • Mpiriirwe RINAH, Uganda
  • Isheanopa RUFU, Zimbabwe
  • Geraint SCHMIDT, Australia
  • Khumoetsile SETHIBE, Botswana

The ELAAD Program Ambassadors 2022-23 are:

  • Beatrice Baiden, Curtin University
  • Dr Muhammad Dan Suleiman, Curtin University
  • Isaac Frimpong, Curtin University
  • Nkechika Ibe, Curtin University
  • Hamish Sneyd, Curtin University

For more information on the ELAAD Program, please click here.